Posted by: cordy74 | June 25, 2009

Happy Father’s Day…here’s your burial plot

Father’s Day this year started much like just about any other Sunday has since we had our first child.  We had not planned anything special, nor did I expect anything special.  The day was moving along at a nice, relaxed pace until I received a voicemail from my mom.  She and my dad wanted to talk to us about the all-important subject of burial plots.

I woke up about 7:30 and went out to get the Girl some breakfast.  She had already been up for about an hour and was happily watching tv.  As it was Father’s Day I decided to go ahead and let my wife sleep in so I could go ahead and spend some time with the kids.  My time alone with the kids lasted until about 10:30 at which point I was fed up with them and decided to wake her up.

Once the wife was up I took the boy and we headed out for the typical Sunday activity of procuring the Sunday papers from the gas station.  While we were riding in the van I realized I had a voice mail message on my phone.  It was from my mom.  It was wierd.

Mom had called to let me know that she and Dad were talking about buying themselves burial plots at the cemetary of the church they had been attending.  You should note that my parents had been talking about getting plots for themselves for the last ten or fifteen years but had not done so yet.  Neither of them is currently any closer to death than any other person in their late 50s or early 60s.

Following is the gist of the message:  “Your dad and I were thinking about getting our burial plots at the church we’ve been going to for the past few months.  They’ve got a nice little cemetary there.  We were going to go ahead and get your sister a plot, too.  I need you to talk to Alyssa and give me a call back.  We wanted to know if you guys wanted us to get you plots with ours.  I thought it might be nice if we were all close together so that…”  It was at this point in the message that I SWEAR I thought she was going to say “we can keep each other company.”  Fortunately for my sanity she finished up with “…there will be family around to take care of the gravesite.  Anyway, talk about it and give us a call back a little later.”  No “Happy Father’s Day” or anything so mundane as that.

After trying not to run the van off the road while I was guffawing at the message I got to the gas station, bought the papers and headed back home.  Once home I told Alyssa about the message.  We had a pretty good laugh about it then talked a little.

It actually seemed like a good idea.  Her family is scattered all over creation (Florida, Mississippi, New York, Illinois, Wisconsin, etc.) so there really isn’t a central burial location on her side.  My family, on the other hand, is almost entirely centered around my hometown.  My three surviving grandparents all live there along with a good portion of my aunts, uncles and cousins.  My grandpa who has passed away along with deceased aunts, uncles and cousins are all interred in the area as well.  It seamed like the logical choice.

I went ahead and called my parents back to wish Dad a Happy Father’s Day and to let the kids yell at them through the phone.  Once all the pleasantries were out of the way I went ahead and told Mom to go ahead and get us plots along with theirs and my sister’s.

Happy Father’s Day to me.  I know know where I’m going to spend eternity…at least that’s where my carcass will reside.  Look forward to pictures of me sitting (or maybe even laying) on my plot.  Good times.

Leave a Reply

Categories